IEEE CIS Task Force on Process Mining

Trace: best_process_mining_dissertation_award_2015


Best Process Mining Dissertation Award 2015

The Best Process Mining Dissertation Award is awarded by the IEEE Task Force on Process Mining to an outstanding PhD thesis focused on the area of business process intelligence. The award is particularly dedicated to works contributing to research in the area of process mining and/or the innovative use of process mining techniques for solving practically relevant problems.

With this award, the IEEE Task Force on Process Mining wants to draw attention to excellent works by young researchers and promote the research area as a whole.

Winner 2015 - Jorge Munoz-Gama - Conformance Checking and Diagnosis in Process Mining

The winner of the 2014 Best Process Mining Dissertation Award is Jorge Munoz-Gama for his PhD thesis entitled “Conformance Checking and Diagnosis in Process Mining”.

Call for Nominations 2015

Below you find the call for nominations for the year 2015, which you can also download as .pdf.

The Best Process Mining Dissertation Award 2015 will be conferred by the IEEE Task Force on Process Mining to the winner during the meeting of the IEEE Task Force on Process Mining at the 13th Int. Conference on Business Process Management in Innsbruck, Austria on 31st August 2015. As part of this event, the recipient will be invited to give a presentation on the main results of the thesis in a form suitable for the event and audience.

The selected thesis will also be recommended for publication as a monograph in the LNBIP series published by Springer. Further, the Dissertation Award will be accompanied by a monetary prize of 1,000 EUR.

Which theses can be nominated?

  • The call for nominations refers to PhD theses which have been successfully defended (and the PhD title awarded) in the period between 1 Jan 2013 and 31 Dec 2014. Nominations for theses that fall outside this period will not be taken into consideration.
  • The thesis must be written in English.

How to submit a nomination?

  1. A PhD thesis is nominated for the award by their supervisors. A nomination should consist of an electronic version of the thesis itself, accompanied by a brief letter (1 or 2 pages) from the supervisor describing why the thesis should be considered for the award.
  2. Nominations should highlight the quality and impact of the work. The nominator may include a pointer to research work influenced by the results of the nominated thesis, and citations to the thesis or derived works, where available.
  3. Submissions should be sent to the Award Organizers at the following email addresses: Dirk Fahland, Antonella Guzzo, Marcello La Rosa.

How is the best thesis selected?

Nominations are judged by an international committee of five experts, members of the IEEE Task Force on Process Mining, based on the following criteria:

  • Significance and innovation of the research contribution
  • Technical depth of the research contribution, in terms of
    1. conceptualization
    2. formalization
    3. implementation
    4. evaluation
  • Potential impact on academia
  • Potential impact on practice
  • Quality of presentation
  • Quality and number of publications derived from the PhD work
  • Total number of citations (incl. publications and thesis itself)

Important Dates

  • 1 May 2015: deadline for nominations
  • 1 July 2015 31st July 2015: announcement of the result to the winner
  • 31 August 2015: awards ceremony at the IEEE Task Force meeting (as part of BPM’15)

Reviewing Committee

  • Paola Mello, University of Bologna, Italy
  • Marco Montali, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy
  • Stefanie Rinderle-Ma, University of Vienna, Austria
  • Antonella Guzzo, University of Calabria, Italy
  • Marcello La Rosa, Queensland University of Technology, Australia